Southern Rural Water

Southern Rural Water (SRW) was formed on 1 July, 1995 when the Rural Water Corporation was dissolved. We are a water corporation owned by the State Government. Southern Rural Water is governed by a Board of Directors, who are appointed by the Minister for Water.

Our business – a quick overview
We have approximately 160 staff based in offices across the state from Hamilton to Bairnsdale.

- Operates irrigation districts at Maffra, Bacchus Marsh and Werribee
- Manages seven major dams
- Licenses groundwater users and river diverters across the southern half of Victoria

We supply water to support agricultural production, electricity generation, country towns and cities, and rural and urban businesses.

Our revenue is about $28 million per year and we have assets valued at around $1.23 billion. We have over 10,000 customers.


  • Street: 33 Princes Highway
  • Postcode: 3030
  • City: WERRIBEE
  • State: Victoria
  • Country: Australia


  • Telephone: 03 9974 4752
  • E-Mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.